Hop To
Spinnaker Pointers, Anyone? #54472
08/03/05 01:52 PM
08/03/05 01:52 PM
Los Angeles
spfechner Offline OP
spfechner  Offline OP

Los Angeles
I have only been using a spinnaker with my cat for about 6 months and feel like a complete novice. It seems like every time I go out, I figure out (the hard way) what to do, or not to do. I would love to learn some of your "Do's & Don'ts".

Here are a few random ones of mine. I have a Nacra F18 with a front snuffer, so that is my perspective. Obviously, different boats or snuffer systems will have different issues.
1. When dousing the spinnaker, if I sail close to straight downwind, I almost always run over the spin sheets with the windward hull. It is really a pain to clear the lines after that. I need to be a little upwind when dousing to avoid this.
2. Rather than trying to see if the spinnaker is raised up to the proper height, I have marked my halyard so I can easily see. Because my halyard is blue, a marker would not work. Instead,I just used a needle to thread a couple pieces of sail repair thread through and tied them off. I can easily see the thread and they do not interfere with the pulleys.
3. When solo sailing and using the spinnaker, its hard to give your forward hand a rest. I have found that I can free up my forward hand for a rest or other needs by positioning the tiller extension a certain way. I put the tiller extension behind my back and hook onto it with the inside of my rear elbow. With this arrangement, I can very effectively steer by simply twisting my upper body. My rear hand can hold the spin sheet, giving my front hand a rest. Try this if your are solo sailing...it works.
4. Apparently, it is important to use your mainsheet as a backstay when sailing with a spinnaker. I think this is an important matter that should be more widely publicied than it is. I understand that its possible to damage your mast if you ignore this issue.

Here are some questions I have: