| Re: Racing Rules Question..DSQ?
[Re: Troy Szabo]
#6897 05/08/02 02:47 PM 05/08/02 02:47 PM |
Joined: Jun 2001 Posts: 215 Ohio TeamTeets
enthusiast
|
enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 215 Ohio | No DSQ... no foul... the course still passes the string test (a string trailing rounds all of the marks in the right direction in the right order) even though extras are rounded.
Mike, Ohio Former H16, H18, N20, N17, M4.3
| | | Re: Racing Rules Question..DSQ?
[Re: Troy Szabo]
#6899 05/09/02 03:52 AM 05/09/02 03:52 AM |
Joined: Sep 2001 Posts: 254 Gower, Wales, UK sailwave
enthusiast
|
enthusiast
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 254 Gower, Wales, UK | On a related note, as I understand it, even if the race committee do see a boat miss a mark but that boat otherwise finishes OK (you can "finish" without sailing the course), they cannot do anything about it other than protest; which makes a lot of sense to me... From RYA/USSA Guidance to Appendix A "A5. Race committees are reminded that, in the absence of a SI to the contrary, they must give a finishing position to any boat that starts and finishes as defined. If the RC believes that a boat has not sailed the required course they must protest her (under the last sentence of rule A5 they cannot disqualify her without a hearing nor score her DNF)." Regards, Colin www.sailwave.com | | |
|
0 registered members (),
269
guests, and 35
spiders. | Key: Admin,
Global Mod,
Mod | | Forums26 Topics22,406 Posts267,062 Members8,150 | Most Online4,027 Jul 30th, 2025 | | |