aaa screw the workin'. Here are the rules that apply to this situation. First Rule 18 and it's exlusions:

Rule 18 (nutshell version);
Quote
inside boat gets room to pass between outside boat and mark (including room to tack or gybe when either is a normal part of the manuever).
.
.
.
18.1b Rule 18 DOES NOT APPLY when boats are on opposite tacks or when the proper course for one of them (not both) to round or pass the mark is to tack.


Most people stop reading there and incorrectly think this applies to a boat that is gybing - but keep reading..

Quote
18.2D; changing course to round or pass
Rule 16 does not apply between a right-of-way boat who is changing course to round or pass a mark .
.
.
.
Rule 16 (which no longer applies inside the c-mark zone): when a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear


- RULE 16 IS EXCLUDED FOR THE STARBOARD BOAT WHO IS GYBING TO ROUND THE MARK if there is impact, it's port's fault. Port has to do more than just allow starboard room - port is obliged to stay out of starboard's way while she rounds.

this is also noteable
Quote
18.4 Gybing
when an inside overlapped right-of-way boat (the starboard spin boat) must gybe at a mark or obstruction to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark or obstruction than needed to sail that course.


Note; this does not mean that port has rights - only that starboard can't be a putz when rounding the mark and if starboard fouls the spinnaker drop and sails past the mark, they are protestable.

Nutshell conclusion;

A starboard boat coming into c-mark inside the 2 length zone has all the rights in the world to round without consideration for the port boat. However, she can't sail past the layline to the mark. Port needs to stay clear


Jake Kohl