Yah, I know you guys think I'm an IDIOT ...just because I'm not computer literate doesn't mean I do not know the rules ...
Read "Jakes" Post carefully about layline!!!! I think he proved my point.
First; by coming in "above the mark outside the 2 Boatlength circle you simplify the situation to a Port-Starb crossing ... the boat on "port" has NO rights and MUST stay clear. Agreed???
Secondly; After you jybe you will be able to come into the mark "powered up" ... under controll ... and make a nice rounding of turning 270degrees, effectively slingshoting around the mark ... exiting with alot of speed!!!
Know remember what "Jake" posted about the layline ... so let look at the "coming in ON the starboard layline"
First; you come screaming in yelling at the top of your lungs and speeding along physically ... do you really think that you can "douse the spin" and round the mark inside the 2 boatlength circle??? Most likely your speed will carry you well beyond the circle, especially if there is any wind at all!!!
Secondly; you will be trying to make a 360 degree turn ... all at once ... my 25+ years of catamaran racing experience tells me that is really SLOW!!!! You are trying to do TWO manuevers at once ... I find that with my "mear mortal and limited brain power" I am much better if I concentrate on one thing at a time and do it well! How about you guys ... are you guys that good???
How about failure to avoid the collision clause in the "Racing Rules" ... yes you where on Starboard w/ an inside overlapbut does that give you the right to come in "out of controll" ...drive over the layline ... forcing boats who are with-in the 2 boatlength circle to drive off ... maybe ... maybe not ... We quickly get back to the definition of a technical/seamanship rounding of a Mark ... I personally wouldn't want to take the "Starboard boat's position to a "Protest Hearing" especially if there is boat damage!
So if I'm the port boat what would I do ... I'm most likely going to slow down and let your speed carry you past the mark ... next when you attempt the "hard turn" I will "heat my boat up, duck your sterns ... feeding you a BIG knuckle of dirt air to boot ... slowing you down even further ... sling-shot the rounding, leaving you in the dust ... And if anyone is on my sterns they mostlikely will do the same your are now on the outside eating "dirty air as the train of boats leaves you behind ... hows that sound
When I started racing ... no flag ... no protest allowed! The first question you were asked was "Did you display your flag?" And I saw some racers who would take advantage of boats w/ out flags, fouling them knowing full well they couldn't be protested!!! So to this day I still have my flag slung under my boom in a tube ... ready for use ... And I have only used it once ... in all the races I have sailed!!!
Harry
PS: the name is MURPHEY ... if you are going to call me an idiot at least get my name correct
Murphy, ever since that infamous day rounding Cape Canaveral when two teams went inside the no-go buoys around the launch pad, and the protest was tossed because the protesting team didn't fly a flag and the N20 was 2 inches too long to fall within the new "no protest flag required rule" even though the facts were found that the teams didn't sail the proper course and sailed a short-cut that the race committee could have and should have protested the sailors on....I too carry a protest flag every race....but that's another story!
With regards to the c-mark rights a port boat has over a starboard boat; If you are on port at a rounding and have contact with a starboard boat at the mark, port is at fault and will be tossed. I've studied this quite a bit and in almost every historical precedent I've read, the starboard boat actually loses the protest unless there was contact. The tricky thing to prove is that the port boat did not give enough room to round the mark - only if there was a collision was it evident that the port boat did not yield enough room and port is at fault. Port is really the only one in this scenario with any course options since starboard is committed to passing between the port boat and the mark (with rights). It's a strange scenario, yes...but it's how this rule plays out historically.
A starboard boat can physically gybe-douse around a mark. It's a little tricky to do cleanly but it can be done. It's almost a certainty that the door will be left wide open for the port boat to round close and get the windward advantage in this scenario - so although port has no rights in this situation, there is an option to regain the tactical advantage if the maneuver is timed correctly. If starboard blows the rounding and sails past the layline, the correct action is not to hit them, but to protest them (if it's even worth it after the advantage you just gained on them).