Originally Posted by Jake
I back out of or into a beach without touching the sails...rudders up, boards mostly up, sit forward of the main beam and the boat will back beautifully. I'm not backwinding a sail (I don't think...they're luffing). I understand the intent (and probably would never try this), but it sounds like I can still do this on a crowded start line and maintain rights as long as I don't physically move the sail over.


Correct. Again, not sure of the utility of this, but that is allowed in the rules.

However, if you are still moving backwards (motion started by luffing), then backwind a sail, as soon as you backwind the sail you lose ROW, according to the "clarification" document that I found on ISAF today.

Mike