F
flyingfool Offline OP
stranger
flyingfool  Offline OP
stranger
F

Madison,WI & Upper MI
a few questions as I'm new to Hobie 16.

I just bought a '75 H16 last fall and have been fixing her up. Anyhow I have a bit of sailing experience but none on Hobie's. Anyhow my questions.

1) My mast to tramp frame has a metal cup on the frame and a metal ball on the base of the mast. Do these sit metal to metal? Or is there some sort of liner that should be on one side or the other to prevent wear and lubrication?

2)How tight should the shroads and fore stay be? Do they make some sort of tool to leverage it so they are tight to insert the clevis pins?

3) The pylon to tramp frame has a single bolt and a plastic nut at each pylon. On mine these are loose so that I can spin the bolt. Is this correct? Or should these be tightened? If so to what torque value? It seems to me with these being loose that it allows for a lot of flex or play between the two hulls.

4) Sail numbers. What is the significance of these? I have a H16 and my first 2 numbers are 16. Is this just a coincidence? What about the remaining numbers?

Thanks

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Newbie to Hobie [Re: flyingfool] #108720
05/30/07 10:50 AM
05/30/07 10:50 AM
Detroit, MI
mbounds Offline
Pooh-Bah
mbounds  Offline
Pooh-Bah

Detroit, MI
First of all, download the assembly manual - Hobie 16 Assembly Manual

1) My mast to tramp frame has a metal cup on the frame and a metal ball on the base of the mast. Do these sit metal to metal? Or is there some sort of liner that should be on one side or the other to prevent wear and lubrication?

The stock boats have a 2" teflon disk that goes between the mast base and the step, but almost any high-density plastic will work - plastic bottle caps, half a whiffle ball, even a piece cut out of a plastic soda bottle. In a real pinch, you can use a quarter.[/quote]