01/06/08 12:07 AM
01/06/08 12:07 AM
SE Pa. or Chesapeak Bay
HMurphey Offline
addict
HMurphey  Offline
addict

SE Pa. or Chesapeak Bay
Wouter and Mark Schnieder make valid points and you would be well advised to listen to them. I have been racing Hobies since the early 1980's. I started on a H-16/#572 and then purchased a H-18/#9458 in early 1985 which I still have and dearly love. I have had my issues with Hobie Corp and the Hobie Class Association. But lets get back to Marks original question “How do you grow a class” by looking at some of the experiences I’ve had. Please do not shoot the messenger, but try and listen to the message.

My credencials are that since 1984 I have attended 150-200 Hobie Points Regattas and a similar number of Open Class events, being a member of Hobie Fleet #54 and CRAC.

My H-16 was indestructible., and great fun with its McGibbons sails. Then I was given a ride on a H-18mag …. my H-18 carries “red foam” 84’serial numbers on 87’/88’ replacement hulls . By the end of the first season the hulls were cracked under the lips for 3’ with most of the crack in front of the crossbar. I put up with a leaking , creased, soft boat trying to race it, taking me 2yrs of wrangling to get them to finally replace the hulls. Then they wanted to pro-rate them as 3yr old hulls. And the sails …. Why is it that I needed to have separate sets of battens for each mainsail??? Could it be that each one varies by sometimes as much as 4” in cord length! (I still have the sails … does anyone want to place a bet on whether I am correct or not.).