Harrington Harbour, Canada
L
Labrador Coaster Offline OP
stranger
Labrador Coaster  Offline OP
stranger
L

I just recently became the proud owner of a NACRA Inter F18.
Bit off a little more than I could chew yesterday in 20 knot winds and tipped her over.

Winds are generally high here and I expect to be sailing solo most of the time.

I couldn't get her back upright yesterday, using the line over the top hull. I'm 200 + full boots, wet survival suit

I need to get myself a better rig, does anyone know where i can get info on.

Design types of righting bags,their vol. etc
how does the righting pole work, is it used with the bag to increase leverage?.

Also was thinking of fabricating a small fiberglass "football" type bob for the mast tip, would the extra floatation be a positive considering the extra weight.

I read some good stuff on this wonderful forum, and plan on reading thru all the different topics over the winter

I'm a newbie so please excuse some of the silly questions,

thanks, Wilson

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Righting bags, righting pole [Re: Labrador Coaster] #191837
09/24/09 09:04 AM
09/24/09 09:04 AM
Clermont, FL, USA
David Ingram Offline
Carpal Tunnel
David Ingram  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Clermont, FL, USA
The owner of this site sells a righting system

http://www.catsailor.com/power_righter.html

Righting bags are also an option. I've seen large garbage bags filled with water used also.

As fellow 200 pounder your biggest concern won't be righting the boat but getting back on before it decides it has waited long enough and decides it's time to leave.

My biggest advice to you is practice righting the boat and getting back on. You'll need to find what works for you.

There are a few primary ways to get on the boat

The tough guy way: The big dolphin kick up at the forward crossbar and hull. You really need to hit this the first time. If you fail on the second attempt it might be time for plan B.