| Re: rules again
[Re: ksurfer2]
#192692 10/05/09 05:10 PM 10/05/09 05:10 PM |
Joined: Jun 2001 Posts: 3,906 Clermont, FL, USA David Ingram
Carpal Tunnel
|
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,906 Clermont, FL, USA | Dave, you're off the hook on this one. The incident in question took place at GYC a month or so ago between Robi and I. You're right, there is no way I could be the "butt" in question. I'm one of the nicest people I know.
David Ingram F18 USA 242 http://www.solarwind.solar"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda "Excuses are the tools of the weak and incompetent" - Two sista's I overheard in the hall "You don't have to be a brain surgeon to be a complete idiot, but it helps"
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: David Ingram]
#192700 10/05/09 06:57 PM 10/05/09 06:57 PM |
Joined: Jul 2004 Posts: 2,718 St Petersburg FL Robi
Carpal Tunnel
|
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718 St Petersburg FL | Dave, you're off the hook on this one. The incident in question took place at GYC a month or so ago between Robi and I. You're right, there is no way I could be the "butt" in question. I'm one of the nicest people I know. No you are not. LOL Karl: IMO You knew I was in a bad situation, Yes I could have tacked absolutely correct, I was close hauled heading to weather, you passed it really close and I could not squeeze in between you and the dinghy if I did there would have been a collision either with you or the dinghy, I chose neither option and slacked the main to slow down and get behind you. You played your rules, fine. If it were me, I would have given you room, even if I have all the rights in the world not. IMO that is OUTSTANDING sportsmanship. Safety first rules second, that is how I sail. I will avoid a situation at all cost even if it cost me a spot or two because I will know in my conscience I did the right thing to avoid a bigger situation.
Last edited by Robi; 10/05/09 07:21 PM.
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: David Ingram]
#192702 10/05/09 07:09 PM 10/05/09 07:09 PM |
Joined: Jun 2001 Posts: 12,310 South Carolina Jake
Carpal Tunnel
|
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 12,310 South Carolina | Dave, you're off the hook on this one. The incident in question took place at GYC a month or so ago between Robi and I. You're right, there is no way I could be the "butt" in question. I'm one of the nicest people I know. I think that shirt I gave you has given people the wrong impression.
Jake Kohl | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Robi]
#192708 10/05/09 11:19 PM 10/05/09 11:19 PM |
Joined: Jun 2001 Posts: 162 Dunedin Causeway, FL hobiephil
member
|
member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 162 Dunedin Causeway, FL | Dave, you're off the hook on this one. The incident in question took place at GYC a month or so ago between Robi and I. You're right, there is no way I could be the "butt" in question. I'm one of the nicest people I know. No you are not. LOL Karl: IMO You knew I was in a bad situation, Yes I could have tacked absolutely correct, I was close hauled heading to weather, you passed it really close and I could not squeeze in between you and the dinghy if I did there would have been a collision either with you or the dinghy, I chose neither option and slacked the main to slow down and get behind you. You played your rules, fine. If it were me, I would have given you room, even if I have all the rights in the world not. IMO that is OUTSTANDING sportsmanship. Safety first rules second, that is how I sail. I will avoid a situation at all cost even if it cost me a spot or two because I will know in my conscience I did the right thing to avoid a bigger situation. Robi I believe you had right to room to pass an obstruction, these are the applicable sections of the RRS. 19.2 Giving Room at an Obstruction (a) A right-of-way boat may choose to pass an obstruction on either side. (b) When boats are overlapped, the outside boat shall give the inside boat room between her and the obstruction, unless she has been unable to do so from the time the overlap began. Definition of Obstruction: An object that a boat could not pass without changing course substantially, if she were sailing directly towards it and one of her hull lengths from it. You did not need to tack. when the leeward boat chose to duck the obstruction, you had the right to duck it too. BTW: I hope to see all you guys in person. I just bought a house in Palm Harbor, 3 miles from the Dunedin Causeway. I have already met alot of the guys who sail from the Causeway and even got a ride on a couple of the cats over to the spoil islands and also out to the Gulf. I will probably be moving down there after our race season ends. I should be on the water down there by mid-November.
Last edited by hobiephil; 10/05/09 11:53 PM.
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: Robi]
#192712 10/06/09 02:28 AM 10/06/09 02:28 AM |
Joined: Feb 2004 Posts: 3,528 Looking for a Job, I got credi... scooby_simon Hull Flying, Snow Sliding.... |
Hull Flying, Snow Sliding....
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,528 Looking for a Job, I got credi... | Simon, but seing how the F16 is using a spin to sail downwind and the A is a uni rig, I would assume the F16 must sail a deeper course, if he or she is sailing higher than an A downwind then the F16 would be pinching. NO? Depends.... If the wind is light; the A may sail "deep and slow" for good VMG when with the extra sail, the F16 can fly the kite; get a hull up and go 3 times as fast but cover 2.9 times as much distance and go faster in VMG terms....
F16 - GBR 553 - SOLD I also talk sport here | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Robi]
#192717 10/06/09 05:48 AM 10/06/09 05:48 AM |
Joined: Jun 2009 Posts: 32 Beth
newbie
|
newbie
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 32 | [/quote]This is where good sportsmanship comes into play.
Sometimes playing by the rules is OK, but pushing the rules can be dangerous as well. We were booking good speed I want to say 10+ kts upwind. As with any story, there is always two sides. Robi, sportsmanship is not in question here. Yes, we applied the rules and chose not to tack onto port and risk fouling you. When is playing by the rules only "sometimes" OK? The rules are there to provide safety on the water. All competitors are responsible for following the rules and avoiding collisions on the race course. Ultimately, skippers and crew are responsible for their own safety. Foremost, this responsibility should not fall to your fellow competitors.
Last edited by Beth; 10/06/09 06:01 AM.
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: Robi]
#192721 10/06/09 07:01 AM 10/06/09 07:01 AM |
Joined: Jul 2007 Posts: 976 France pepin
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 976 France | I was in this situation where we were both on starboard, heading to the weather mark. Leeward boat was maybe half a boat length in front. He came up and pinch me against a dingy tethered to an anchored yacht. I had no where to go and eased off my sails to fall off and prevent hitting any vessels.
I was told there was navigable waters around the yacht and dinghy so I had no rights for room. You have the right to room at an obstruction. 100%. You should have protested the pincher. Rule 19. I think this situation is similar... Actually it's not. The finishing line is not an obstruction when you finish. It's just a mark of the course, with rule 18 applying. Zones and overlap rules do apply exactly like at any other marks but the starting line. | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Clayton]
#192722 10/06/09 07:11 AM 10/06/09 07:11 AM |
Joined: Jan 2009 Posts: 5,525 pgp OP
Carpal Tunnel
|
OP
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525 | Ok, from a tactical stand point, why would one do that to a boat that is not in their class? If that would not affect their standing in their own class but possibly the other boats standing (if it caused them to lose a place) in its own class, what would be the point? If you are in a O.D. class is the elapsed time a factor? Or just first to finish? If it is time then why wait for the other boat to get close then head up? Why not just shoot for the finish as fast as possible?
Regardless of the rules, it just seems someone is just trying to P.O. someone else.
Inquiring minds,
Clayton One of the F16's strength is the spinnaker run. It isn't a question of doing anything "to" someone but maximizing the F16's performance. "Fast as possible" involves a series of S curves downwind. It's probably the same for all the spin boats.
Last edited by pgp; 10/06/09 07:23 AM.
Pete Pollard Blade 702
'When you have a lot of things to do, it's best to get your nap out of the way first.
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: Beth]
#192724 10/06/09 07:12 AM 10/06/09 07:12 AM |
Joined: May 2003 Posts: 4,451 West coast of Norway Rolf_Nilsen
Carpal Tunnel
|
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 4,451 West coast of Norway | So what world class event was this, what did all the pros attending think and why not protest since this must have been a very prestigous event where all points mattered  Having this discussion here instead of in front of a jury or better, on the beach, is a good way to not find the facts and not have the rules applied properly. Once names or places are named, discussion goes into the drain. International problem resolution procedure:1: Sit down together with something cool to drink and some free time. Bring many witnesses and make sure they also have something cool to drink ( splitting the tab will make the lesson stick). 2: If task 1 did not solve the problem. Agree on the facts, write them down with a sketch illustrating the situation. 3: Go to the closest international jugde or similarly qualified person you trust, get his opinion. 4: Accept his opinion or go back to step 1 until solved. 5: Come back here and post the result, with pictures preferably. 6: Always remember that unless you are a pro ( and a professional should know the answers so no need to ask), sailing is for fun. Give sailors room at obstructions and dont try anything funky just before the finish line (do it well before), it will only kick back if you dont. | | | Re: rules again
[Re: David Ingram]
#192729 10/06/09 08:12 AM 10/06/09 08:12 AM | andrewscott
Unregistered
| andrewscott
Unregistered | You're right, there is no way I could be the "butt" in question. I'm one of the nicest people I know. Dont forget the most modest as well...  | | | Re: rules again
[Re: pgp]
#192732 10/06/09 08:37 AM 10/06/09 08:37 AM |
Joined: Nov 2005 Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA Isotope235
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA | Two boats on starboard tack. A F16 is finishing downwind (under spinnaker). Can he legally head up, preventing an A cat (or any other type) from finishing. ... he is not sailing above proper course. Let's nail down some facts: 1) Both boats are on the same tack (starboard in this case). 2) The boats are overlapped. 3) It is the leeward (L) boat's proper course to finish at the mark. 4a) They are more than three boat-lengths from the finish mark or, 4b) They are at the three boat-length zone from the finish mark. 5) L was able to give W (windward) room at the mark at the time they became overlapped (potentially long before they reached the zone). Because L is not sailing above her proper course (fact 3), rule 17 does not apply and need not be considered. While they are outside the zone (fact 4a), rule 18 does not apply. Rule 11 does (facts 1,2) and W must keep clear of L. L may change course provided she gives W room to keep clear under rule 16.1. When they reach the zone, they are overlapped (fact 4b) and W is inside. Because L was able to give mark-room when the overlap was established, she must give W mark-room within the zone under rule 18.2(b). In short, you can't pinch somebody off the finish line. I hope that helps, Eric US Sailing Certified Judge, Member Area D Appeals Committee | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Isotope235]
#192733 10/06/09 08:38 AM 10/06/09 08:38 AM | andrewscott
Unregistered
| andrewscott
Unregistered | Robi, next time bring your 50cal nurf rocket launcher.... | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Robi]
#192734 10/06/09 08:47 AM 10/06/09 08:47 AM |
Joined: Nov 2005 Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA Isotope235
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA | I was in this situation where we were both on starboard, heading to the weather mark. Leeward boat was maybe half a boat length in front. He came up and pinch me against a dingy tethered to an anchored yacht. I had no where to go and eased off my sails to fall off and prevent hitting any vessels.
I was told there was navigable waters around the yacht and dinghy so I had no rights for room.
I think this situation is similar... You were told wrong. The "navigable water" part applies only at the start. See the preamble to Part 2, Section C. The anchored yacht and dinghy you describe were an obstruction. Since the leeward boat chose to sail below them, he was obligated to give you (as inside boat) room to avoid it. The situation originally described took place at the finish, not the start, so rule 18 does apply. Regards, Eric US Sailing Certified Judge, Member Area D Appeals Committee | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Isotope235]
#192735 10/06/09 08:52 AM 10/06/09 08:52 AM |
Joined: Oct 2005 Posts: 1,152 tampa, fl ksurfer2
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,152 tampa, fl | This is why judges are so important. Eric, thank you for clearing this up. Robi, your next beer(s) are on me!
If your havin girl problems i feel bad for you son I got 99 problems but my beautiful wife ain't one | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Isotope235]
#192736 10/06/09 08:54 AM 10/06/09 08:54 AM |
Joined: Jun 2001 Posts: 833 St. Louis, MO, Mike Hill
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 833 St. Louis, MO, | Eric is exactly right here.
I'll take it a step further. One time I and another boat were on port going upwind. I was to leeward of the other boat which was overlapped to windward. I saw a starboard tack boat that I could barely take it's stearn just ahead. I could take the boats stearn perfectly leaving no room for my overlapped "freind" to windward.
He quickly asked for room because of the obstruction. I allowed it. Turned out bad for me because this allowed him to reach down on top of me when I allowed the room.
Lesson is that a starboard tack boat can also be an obstruction.
Last edited by Mike Hill; 10/06/09 08:55 AM.
Mike Hill N20 #1005
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: Isotope235]
#192737 10/06/09 08:58 AM 10/06/09 08:58 AM |
Joined: Mar 2006 Posts: 1,246 Orlando, FL tback
veteran
|
veteran
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,246 Orlando, FL |
Let's nail down some facts: 1) Both boats are on the same tack (starboard in this case). 2) The boats are overlapped. 3) It is the leeward (L) boat's proper course to finish at the mark. 4a) They are more than three boat-lengths from the finish mark or, 4b) They are at the three boat-length zone from the finish mark. 5) L was able to give W (windward) room at the mark at the time they became overlapped (potentially long before they reached the zone).
Because L is not sailing above her proper course (fact 3), rule 17 does not apply and need not be considered.
While they are outside the zone (fact 4a), rule 18 does not apply. Rule 11 does (facts 1,2) and W must keep clear of L. L may change course provided she gives W room to keep clear under rule 16.1.
When they reach the zone, they are overlapped (fact 4b) and W is inside. Because L was able to give mark-room when the overlap was established, she must give W mark-room within the zone under rule 18.2(b).
In short, you can't pinch somebody off the finish line.
I hope that helps, Eric US Sailing Certified Judge, Member Area D Appeals Committee
THAT ... was the best description of rules interpretation I've seen posted! Several take-aways from the explanation. Thanks Eric.
USA 777
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: ksurfer2]
#192738 10/06/09 09:03 AM 10/06/09 09:03 AM |
Joined: Nov 2005 Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA Isotope235
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA | For a long time I was of a similar opinion to you that a closed start finish line should not be viewed as an obstruction. I have had a discussion regarding that situation with several different judges and the concensus that I got was that it is an obstruction, and must be treated as such, if it is deemed to be closed by the SI's. I've long been of the opinion that a closed start/finish line is a bad idea. It exists only for the convenience of the race committee and does not serve the sailors. I sometimes call it "the lazy race committee rule". A closed line is also notoriously difficult to define properly in the sailing instructions. As a racer, I've never seen it written correctly. As PRO, I typically strike it from the SI's. Ok, my personal opinion aside, if you are going to have a closed line, it's best if the sailing instructions explicitly declare it to be an obstruction as well. There's a good argument that it is implicitly an obstruction, and I would generally deem it so, but there's no guarantee that the protest committee will concur. Regards, Eric US Sailing Certified Judge Member, Area D Appeals Committee | | | Re: rules again
[Re: waterbug_wpb]
#192740 10/06/09 09:08 AM 10/06/09 09:08 AM |
Joined: Nov 2005 Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA Isotope235
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA | Is there any rule requiring you cross the finish line from a certain direction?
If you were pinched out of the finish line downwind, is there any reason you couldn't douse the spin, round up and cross the finish line close-hauled? Yes, look at the definition of "finish". You must cross the finish line in the direction from the previous mark. Also look at rule 28, often called the "string rule". If you cross the line in the wrong direction, you must "unwind your string" (retrace your path) before finishing correctly. I hope that helps, Eric US Sailing Certified Judge Member, Area D Appeals Committee | | | Re: rules again
[Re: Isotope235]
#192743 10/06/09 09:16 AM 10/06/09 09:16 AM |
Joined: Jun 2001 Posts: 3,906 Clermont, FL, USA David Ingram
Carpal Tunnel
|
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,906 Clermont, FL, USA | I was in this situation where we were both on starboard, heading to the weather mark. Leeward boat was maybe half a boat length in front. He came up and pinch me against a dingy tethered to an anchored yacht. I had no where to go and eased off my sails to fall off and prevent hitting any vessels.
I was told there was navigable waters around the yacht and dinghy so I had no rights for room.
I think this situation is similar... You were told wrong. The "navigable water" part applies only at the start. See the preamble to Part 2, Section C. The anchored yacht and dinghy you describe were an obstruction. Since the leeward boat chose to sail below them, he was obligated to give you (as inside boat) room to avoid it. The situation originally described took place at the finish, not the start, so rule 18 does apply. Regards, Eric US Sailing Certified Judge, Member Area D Appeals Committee Eric, could the leward boat request room to tack instead of ducking? Also could Mike Hill have requested room to tack instead of ducking in his port/starboard situation? If not, why not? Dave
David Ingram F18 USA 242 http://www.solarwind.solar"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda "Excuses are the tools of the weak and incompetent" - Two sista's I overheard in the hall "You don't have to be a brain surgeon to be a complete idiot, but it helps"
| | | Re: rules again
[Re: pgp]
#192744 10/06/09 09:18 AM 10/06/09 09:18 AM |
Joined: Nov 2005 Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA Isotope235
old hand
|
old hand
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 807 Hillsborough, NC USA | The open spin class and A class were started together but scored separately. The F16 was trying to finish as quickly as possible to obtain the best score in that class. The A cat, in this case was more like a moving obstacle rather than a competitor. It doesn't matter whether the boats started together, are scored against each other, or are even sailing in the same regatta. If they are both "in or near the racing area and intend to race, are racing, or have been racing", then the rules of Part 2 apply. See the preamble to Part 2. Regards, Eric US Sailing Certified Judge Member, Area D Appeals Committee | | |
|
0 registered members (),
222
guests, and 45
spiders. | Key: Admin,
Global Mod,
Mod | | Forums26 Topics22,406 Posts267,062 Members8,150 | Most Online4,027 Jul 30th, 2025 | | |