05/12/10 09:22 PM

M
MarkMT
Unregistered
MarkMT
Unregistered
M

Originally Posted by Brett Goodall
As an engineer I know we can all take different conclusions from the same results.

Personally, I would be willing to take that risk.

And no, I don't enjoy these discussions, mainly because they are almost entirely data-free.

--Advertisement--
Re: Andrew MacPherson Interview [Re: Brett Goodall] #210888
05/12/10 09:36 PM
05/12/10 09:36 PM
Northfield Mn
Karl_Brogger Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Karl_Brogger  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Northfield Mn
Originally Posted by Brett Goodall
Oh and more "on topic"... does this forum enjoy the banter with macca????

I think its more to do with him targeting the class more than anything. This just happens to be the choosen battle ground. In other words, he started it. grin

At some point it will be fiscally viable to build boats lighter, cheaper and stiffer. Some person or company will come out with the next best thing in composites that will make us wonder why we even bothered with epoxy/carbon-fibre. Like many things in the past, it'll probably happen by accident, though those opportunities grow few by the day.

Any manufacturing business, if they've got the capital to move forward on a different product to fill a niche, they will do so. So long as it looks like there is a going to be a return on that investment, in other words its gotta pencil out. Sure, someone could have a underweight, fully optimized F16 built, but how much would it cost, and how many could you sell? Look at Marstrom, how many M20's do they sell?

So, is there actually a niche for a fully optimized F16?

Re: Andrew MacPherson Interview [Re: Karl_Brogger] #210892
05/12/10 10:28 PM
05/12/10 10:28 PM
Brisveagas
Aido Offline
enthusiast
Aido  Offline
enthusiast

Brisveagas
Karl, maybe one day I'll magically grow wings and be able to fly like a humming bird.

Lighter, stronger, faster, better is without exception more expensive. Time to be realistic.