07/18/11 12:27 AM
07/18/11 12:27 AM
M
mrooke Offline
stranger
mrooke  Offline
stranger
M

I am relatively new to sailing, have owned my Wave now for 6 weeks, and been having a blast sailing it on the weekends in Texas at Lake Buchanan and the Texas City Dike. I have seen the postings with the helpful performance recommendations on mast rake and keeping your weight forward. Obviously I am a recreational sailor gaining experience at this point, and don’t want to do anything to preclude racing in the future.

I would like to know what I should add next to my Wave to get more performance. Many of the postings from 2008 recommend improving sail shape by adding a traveller and later postings from 2011 recommend adding one of the new, fuller, high-tech sails. However, it seems to me that those already using a high-tech sail report neglible performance gains from a traveller. If so, then perhaps I should just go ahead and get a fuller high-tech sail and not waste money on a traveller.

So my question is: which option provides the highest raw performance on a Wave for a 200 lb. sailor?
a) adding a traveller to a standard Hobie sail (~$200)
b) adding a fuller high-tech sail without a traveller (e.g., Calvert dacron
sail costs ~$600)

Is it worth adding both a traveller and a fuller high-tech sail to a Wave at a later point?

Thanks for any help.

--Advertisement--
Re: Big Guys and Wave Racing [Re: mrooke] #234931
07/18/11 10:07 AM
07/18/11 10:07 AM
Indianapolis, IN - Midwest USA...
IndyWave Offline
enthusiast
IndyWave  Offline
enthusiast

Indianapolis, IN - Midwest USA...
The best thing you can do is save your money and go sailing!

Time on the water, getting the feel of response to changing conditions, practice tacking and mark-rounding, practice starts, etc... All those will have more dramatic effects on performance than a traveller or new sail.