05/03/12 09:54 PM
05/03/12 09:54 PM
D
dstgean Offline OP
journeyman
dstgean  Offline OP
journeyman
D

I've taken my TheMightyHobie18 on the T200 in 08 and had fun, but it wasn't really up for a cruising payload (water mostly). I'd like to find a boat that can handle a bit of weight but still be light enough to horse around solo. I'm a teacher, so the budget is tight. I could sell the TheMightyHobie18 or part it out as that seems to be where the value is on those right now. I have built a high volume cat for beachcruising with two or more based on Gary Dierking's Tamanu design that I took on the 09 Texas 200 camp cruise. I'd like to do much the same but with a smaller lighter cat. I have to be able to right it solo, carry my camping kit, food, and water. Sleeping on the tramp would be nice if it dried out, but camping ashore would be ok too. I like wings and potentially self bailing footwells in the hulls if I were to build one. Obviously those would be out if it were a stock beachcat. I kinda like uni rigs, but having a chute would be nice too. I don't mind building from scratch, but it might be easier to find something stock and modify it instead. Do you have any suggestions? I think an acceptable payload might be 350-400#?

Thanks,

Dan

Last edited by dstgean; 05/03/12 09:55 PM.
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Good cheaper solo cat for beachcruising? [Re: dstgean] #247735
05/04/12 01:01 AM
05/04/12 01:01 AM
japan
erice Offline
old hand
erice  Offline
old hand

japan
not a cat but a lot of what you want is in the 14' weta trimaran

eric e
1982 nacra 5.2 - 2158
2009 weta tri - 294
Re: Good cheaper solo cat for beachcruising? [Re: erice] #247747
05/04/12 08:49 AM
05/04/12 08:49 AM
Naples, FL
waterbug_wpb Offline
Carpal Tunnel
waterbug_wpb  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Naples, FL
sounds like a Stilleto 23 might fit the bill, although you wouldn't be able to right it singlehanded...

Jay

Re: Good cheaper solo cat for beachcruising? [Re: dstgean] #247751
05/04/12 09:31 AM