Cheshirecatman Offline
enthusiast
Cheshirecatman  Offline
enthusiast

UK
Originally Posted by dacarls
www.electroarc.com
Here is a serious guaranteed solution.
Melt your way through the bolt with an electric arc!
Note this may be good if your ship is made of stainless steel.
If fiberglass or carbon is nearby-- not so much! WHoooosh!

Also known as spark erosion. Great for brake callipers (especially sheared off bleed nipples) but as you say not for cat beam bolts.

Cheshirecatman

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Any tips for drilling out a broken beam bolt??? [Re: Team_Cat_Fever] #252040
09/06/12 02:39 PM
09/06/12 02:39 PM
Hawaii
timtower Offline
journeyman
timtower  Offline
journeyman

Hawaii
I’m a pro at resurrecting dead threads. Anyway, here’s my problem, I broke a bunch of the 3/8” stainless beam bolts in my N20 taking the boat apart and now I’m screwed (no pun intended).

Attempt 1) Used a fairly small diameter titanium drill bit to drill into the first broken beam bolt. I was making good progress but then the drill bit broke. Then I proceeded to use larger diameter drill bits to continue to drill into the bolt, but the broken titanium drill bit dulled the new drill bits. I suppose if I just keep going through drill bits, I’ll get to the end eventually. Any thoughts on this problem?

Attempt 2) For the second broken beam bolt, I switched out titanium drill bits for carbide drill bits with hope that if I break another drill bit, it’ll be easier to drill through a carbide drill bit. Ended up drilling through the bolt, but realized I wasn’t even close to center on the bottom of the bolt. Now, I don’t want to keep going up in size because I’ll chew into the fiberglass. Maybe I can use a small diamond tip dremel and wear away at the sides of the bolt?

Besides the two beam bolts that I’ve already f’d up, I have two more to go. I’m thinking with the next two, I’ll use this product… http://www.quikcenter.com/ Thoughts?