10/01/12 09:57 AM
10/01/12 09:57 AM
Greenville SC
bacho Offline OP
old hand
bacho  Offline OP
old hand

Greenville SC
I am considering trying to use a HT mast on my I-20. I read that the HT mast would need to be beefed up to live on the 20. What are the more experienced thoughts about this? I would love to take an opportunity to put a lighter mast on the boat, but I would rather not have something that would be on the verge of breaking with the extra heft of the 20.

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: F18ht mast on I-20 [Re: bacho] #252901
10/01/12 11:37 AM
10/01/12 11:37 AM
I
I20RI Offline
I20RI  Offline
I

Im no expert but I've spent a lot of time on both boats. The HT weighs maybe 2/3rds(or less) of the 20, I think the rig is taller too. My guess is that the ht mast would snap like a twig. It is wayyyy lighter than the 20 mast. Is your 20 mast one of the old carbon ones or a new aluminum one?

Re: F18ht mast on I-20 [Re: I20RI] #252905
10/01/12 01:38 PM
10/01/12 01:38 PM
South Carolina
Jake Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Jake  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

South Carolina
Originally Posted by I20RI
Im no expert but I've spent a lot of time on both boats. The HT weighs maybe 2/3rds(or less) of the 20, I think the rig is taller too. My guess is that the ht mast would snap like a twig. It is wayyyy lighter than the 20 mast. Is your 20 mast one of the old carbon ones or a new aluminum one?

The I20 mast was very old carbon technology and far heavier than it was robust. Over what it was tasked with originally, you're really only asking the HT mast to carry a jib and cart around another 125 lbs of boat. It would probably be more sensitive to mistakes but I bet it would survive.

Jake Kohl
Re: F18ht mast on I-20 [Re: Jake] #252911
10/01/12 03:48 PM
10/01/12 03:48 PM
Naples, FL
waterbug_wpb Offline
Carpal Tunnel
waterbug_wpb  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Naples, FL
Originally Posted by Jake