07/24/04 02:57 AM
07/24/04 02:57 AM
A
ace Offline OP
stranger
ace  Offline OP
stranger
A

Any recomendations for righting a Hobie Tiger (solo if possible) would be appreciated. I am a newbie to cat sailing so the more descriptive the better ie. 1. swim to the boat

I am thinking of installing shroud extenders. Is there a danger of the mast coming off with the shroud extended? Is this the best system? How should the righting line be installed. What are the steps to right the boat.

Tks

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Righting a Hobie Tiger (solo if possible) [Re: ace] #36011
07/25/04 09:11 PM
07/25/04 09:11 PM
S. Florida
BRoberts Offline
enthusiast
BRoberts  Offline
enthusiast

S. Florida
Hello Ace,
The shroud extension system is just like any other "system". Either get all of it or don't get any of it. This includes a captive mast step base. This base also is a safety feature. It keeps the bottom of the mast on the ball while raising and lowering the mast. The mast can't slip off the ball or out of the pivot and fly up and hit your crew person in the face in the midst of raising or lowering the mast. I have seen this happen on some systems.
Bill

Re: it has a locking step [Re: BRoberts] #36012
07/26/04 01:59 AM
07/26/04 01:59 AM
samevans Offline
enthusiast
samevans  Offline
enthusiast

Bill,
We realize how upset you get when anyone wants to put a shroud extender on anything but a Supercat,
but you could at least do two minutes of research before you open your mouth.

The Hobie Wave, Dragoon, Getaway, 17, 20, Tiger, FX/One, and Fox all have locking mast steps.
Hobie Cat has been selling two types of shroud extenders for many years.

Re: it has a locking step [Re: samevans] #36013
07/26/04 03:03 AM
07/26/04 03:03 AM
South Australia
Darryl_Barrett Offline
old hand
Darryl_Barrett  Offline
old hand

South Australia