07/18/05 05:25 PM
07/18/05 05:25 PM
M
mangu Offline OP
stranger
mangu  Offline OP
stranger
M

I know there are a few old Nacra 5.0 sailors out there - don't know if this applies to the longer Nacras as well?

I've got a Prindle 18 that I've kept, but just bought a used Nacra 5.0 for a smaller lake I sail. Although the Nacra 5.0 is an '86, it was NEVER sailed so this is my first time sailing with new sails. What a differance, that little 5.0 solo is mighty quick with new sails.

Anyway, my question - rudder rake/mast rake on asmeticral hulls. After digging the leeward bow in relativly light winds, I've raked the mast aft about 15 inches. I've also raked the rudders aft as far as they will go by screwing out the nylon bolt spacer. I still have either lee or nuetral helm - no weather helm and steering is still a little squirly. Even with the rudders raked back, to me they still look forward, with the tips of the blades a couple inches in front of the transoms.

In order to rake mast further, I have to add another stay adjuster. In order to rake the rudders further, I have to find longer nylon bolts/spacers - but I do need to get some weather helm in the boat and stablize my steering.

Any suggstions on the rigging on this boat are appreciated. Did anybody find the nylon spacers not long enough to rake the rudders out from under the boat?

Dan

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: NACRA 5.0 questions - help! [Re: mangu] #53464
07/18/05 06:05 PM
07/18/05 06:05 PM
South Carolina
Jake Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Jake  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

South Carolina
The factory Nacra rudder system should easily adjust the rudders where they need to be...be sure you check the rudder toe in to make sure they are aligned together - strange things can happen if they are out of alignment. Could you possibly post some pictures of the rudder system and/or the boat assembled?

Jake Kohl
Re: NACRA 5.0 questions - help! [Re: mangu] #53465
07/18/05 08:01 PM
07/18/05 08:01 PM
Central California