I know there is a situation wherein you are allowed to make a tactical rounding, but always get them confused. I know someone said "no obligations" allows you to do that.. can you be more specific and use it in an example? Anyone got a pic of when you are at the mark with another boat and are allowed to make a tactical rounding?

Just found it on the racing rules thread:

Ya'll are missing a fine point here. If a boat enters the 2-length zone with no overlaps, he is not required to do a seamanship-like rounding. He may do a tactical rounding -- enter wide, exit close.
If there was another boat in the zone at the same time and a boat has INSIDE overlap and is also the right-of-way boat, (Occurs when either both boats are on starboard, or the hero is on starboard and other boat is on port) again he need not do a seamanship-like rounding, rather a tactical rounding.
If a boat has another boat in the zone at the same time, has the INSIDE overlap and the other boat is the right-of-way boat, (This occurs when the hero is on port and the outside boat is on port, thereby making him the leeward and right-of-way boat ) then he is required to do a seamanship-like rounding.
Boats coming from behind have to keep clear. Period.

Last edited by PTP; 03/30/07 02:45 PM.