Quote
Boat B's issues are different, as discussed above. As stated, while he has the right to file for redress (for the scoring error), he may or may not actually be granted redress.

Boat B can file for redress (within the time limit), but I doubt it would be granted. To paraphrase RRS 62.1, "A request for redress...shall be based on a claim ... that a boat’s score ... has, through no fault of her own, been made significantly worse by ... an improper action ... of the race committee". There's little doubt that the boat's score was made significantly worse. I believe that it was an improper action for RC to score the boat DNF, although an International Race Officer I once met might disagree with me. If, however, the skipper admits that he hit the mark, I wouldn't say that it was "through no fault of his own". But without a protest hearing to find fact, this could go either way. If appealed, B's finishing place would probably be reinstated.

Quote
I personally don't know if he can be DSQd as a result of the redress hearing if the jury realizes that he broke a rule, did not circle and was not protested.

In this case, no. According to RRS 60.3 "A protest committee may... protest a boat, but not as a result of... information... in a request for redress". So, while the protest committee may decide to deny redress, they cannot convene a protest hearing to penalize Boat B.

Regards,
Eric