Hi,
On the last regatta I oversailed the upwind mark because I wasn't sure if I could tack or not. I've checked the rules on this particular situation but it still isn't clear to me.... Anyone can help?
Here's the situation:
We were sailing upwind on port tack with an F18 behind us (about 5 boatlengths). The F18 was also sailing about 1 boatlength higher. We were both double trapping.
At a certain moment we had the feeling we had to tack if we didn't want to oversail the mark, but the F18 kept on sailing and we didn't dare to tack. Eventually when the F18 and we tacked we had oversailed the mark.
Now, could we tack if we:
1) just announced the tack
2) announced the tack and made sure we were on the other tack by the time the F18 was there.
Is it enough that the sails are on the other tack or should we be going forward already?
3)announced the tack but were still tacking by the time the F18 was there?
I'm pretty sure 3 isn't an option, but what about the 2 others?
Regards,
Gill