Don't starboard tackers ever break the rules?
Yes. It is entirely possible that both (or all) boats involved may break a rule. I prefer not to think of the rules in terms of "rights", but in terms of "obligations". In a typical starboard/port crossing, the port boat (P) is obligated to keep clear (rule 10), If the starboard boat (S) changes course, she is obligated to give P room to keep clear (rule 16.1). S is also obligated not to "hunt" P (rule 16.2). Both boats are obligated to avoid contact if reasonably possible (rule 14).
If, for example, P does not keep clear of S, and S does not avoid contact (and there's damage or injury), then both boats may wind up disqualified.
Regards,
Eric
US Sailing Certified Judge
Member, Area D Appeals Committee