Rule 13 states:
After a boat passes head to wind, she shall keep clear of other boats until she is on a close-hauled course. During that time, rules 10, 11, and 12 do not apply...
Judging by the video, I would say that
- Artemis begins her tack at 0:12. That's when she starts to head up. At this point, both boats are on port tack and Artemis is clear ahead, so rules 12 and 16 apply. The boats become overlapped almost immediately, and then rules 11 and 16 apply. Both boats are upholding their obligations at this time.
- At time 0:14, Artemis passes head-to-wind (you can see her jib flutter). Now rules 11 and 16 cease to apply, and 13 takes over. Rule 14 also comes into play.
- At time 0:15, Groupe Edmond starts bearing away. I see her main ease at 0:16 and both sails are dumping air by 0:18 (while continuously bearing down).
- Artemis continues to turn until 0:20, so that's when I'd say she reached a close-hauled course. At that instant she is no longer tacking and is now on starboard tack. Rule 13 no longer applies. Rules 10 and 15 do.
- At 0:21, the boats collide.
It appears to me that Artemis had completed its tack and was on starboard with their sails drawing.
The sails don't have to be drawing. What counts is being on a "close hauled course". That means that the boat is pointing in the direction on which she would sail close-hauled.
Shouldn't GE have anticipated that Artemis would be taking on the layline and prepared for the duck that was coming?
From a rules perspective, no. A boat does not have to anticipate the actions of another boat. She need only react to what the other boat actually does. See ISAF Case 92.
When a right-of-way boat changes course, the keep-clear boat is required to act only in response to what the right-of-way boat is doing at the time, not what the right-of-way boat might do subsequently.
From a judgement perspective, one should always try to anticipate what other boats might do. I don't see any evidence that Groupe Edmond failed in that, given that she began her bear-away within a second of Artemis passing head-to-wind. Groupe Edmond was obviously ready to take avoing action and did not delay.
How long after a boat completes a tack onto starboard do they remain the give way boat?
A boat completes her tack when she reaches a close-hauled course. At that instant, rule 13 ends and rule 10 applies. rule 15 "Acquiring Right of Way" also applies, so a boat that tacked to starboard must initially give a port tack boat room to keep clear.
I hope that helps,
Eric