Quote
Quote
Wouldn't black, being the inside overlap boat at the two-boat-length circle have bouy room? Plus isn't he the leeward boat? I would think Black had all kinds of right of way, but I've been known to total misinterpret the rules too. I always get those darn rule quizes wrong.

-Rob V.


18.2(b) OVERLAPPED AT THE ZONE
If boats were overlapped before either of them reached the twolength
zone and the overlap is broken after one of them has reached
it, the boat that was on the outside shall continue to give the other
boat room. If the outside boat becomes clear astern or overlapped
inside the other boat, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear.

In other words, red owes black room at the mark no matter what happens after they entered the 2BL circle. Now, it's up to black if he can get there and use it.


Nearly..... Red does not owe black room if the two are on opposite tacks (irrelevant in this case) or if black must tack to get around the mark as part of his proper course (highly relevant).

As part of his standard windward/leeward rules, red must also keep clear of black. That means that black shall be able to change course without immediately colliding with red. However..... depending on how the overlap was established, black may or may not be able to sail above her proper course to push the windward boat out. We simply don't have enough information from this example to draw any conclusion in this regard.

Cheers,
Tiger Mike