I thought we were talking about boats in very close quarters where the leeward boat was unable to round up without hitting the windward boat??? In this situation the rule is crystal clear - keeping clear does allow the leeward boat to change course without having to worry about immediately collecting the windward boat. How more simple can we make it???
How so ?
You still cannot just slam the tiller over and expect the other boat to move. You still have to give the other boat time to avoid you (by luffing up-to but not past head to wind, when you are "forcing" your right-of way (or right to change course), the other boat still only has to react to your changes of course, they do not have to expect them. However, as soon as you start your luff, the other boat has to start to react, but they have to have timne to react, and ther has to be room for them to react.
I've had a very long chat about this to an international judge, and his advice was NEVER hit the other boat, this instantly implies there was not enought time for the other boat to move out of the way. He was also saying that it is good to make it clear what you intend to do, before you do it. The other boat still does not have to react until you actually do it, but it strenthens YOUR case at a later date.