According to Tacticat rules engine:
- As both boats where approaching the mark in the same tack and were overlapped, the moment one of them touched 2BL rule 18 was ON and windward boat was marked as owing room to leeward boat. Tacticat does not make assumptions about who can or cannot lay the mark unless it is very clear.
- If leeward (robi) boat pinched, and did it smoothly, it would most probably end stopped, in irons (even for a laser). But if a collision happened, the windward boat would be found guilty.
- If leeward (robi) boat pinched hard and hit the windward boat he would be at fault, not giving room or time to windward boat to escape.
- The moment one of both boats starts the tack rule 18 is OFF and rulings are as if there were no buoy.
- After the two boats have tacked, back on close-hauled angle, rule 18 is again ON and windward boat ows room.

This is one of the EASY cases. Things get much worse when boats approach a windward mark on different tack!

aestela
Tacticat Admin