Hop To
shroud tension #49622
05/18/05 02:15 PM
05/18/05 02:15 PM
Banner Elk, NC
Bill K. Offline OP
Bill K.  Offline OP

Banner Elk, NC
I've been restoring an 83' 16 for the last two months and finally stepped the mast only to find that the shrouds and forestay were incredibly loose even when attached to lowest holes in each adjuster(mast swings two feet in every direction). I've been contemplating rigging the shrouds to the upper hole in the mast tang and to take up slack and seeing what will happen. Has anyone done this? Is it safe? Or, should I just buy new shrouds since these are probably more than a few years old and hope new ones fit better? BTW, the forestay is new. Appreciate advice.

83' Hobie 16
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: shroud tension [Re: Bill K.] #49623
05/18/05 02:46 PM
05/18/05 02:46 PM
North Carolina
hrtsailor Offline
enthusiast
hrtsailor  Offline
enthusiast

North Carolina
Will,

The forestay only holds the mast up until you raise the jib. The shrouds will not be tight until you tighten the jib halyard. The jib luff wire then becomes the forestay and the forestay is no longer in use. There is a small block on the jib halyard that allows you to loop around the cheek block under the jib cleat on the mast. That gives you a mechanical advantage to tighten the halyard. I believe most people keep the shrouds at the lowest hole in the adjusters to provide a lot of mast rake. If the shrouds are worn or have broken wires they should be replaced.

Howard

Re: shroud tension [Re: hrtsailor] #49624
05/18/05 09:19 PM
05/18/05 09:19 PM
West Texas
JaimeZX Offline
enthusiast
JaimeZX  Offline
enthusiast

West Texas
If you have a new forestay and old shrouds, that'd explain your dillema. Several years ago the standard lengths were changed; forestays became a bit longer and the shrouds became a bit shorter. If you want your setup to work okay you'll either have to custom order another old-length (shorter) forestay or get new shrouds to match the new forestay.