In the definition of finish, it includes a bit about "in the direction from the last mark." So I would perceive that you couldn't hook finish.

Some of Pgp'S Question probably needs to define how the overlap developed. As has been discussed before, if you want to use the rules as tactics against someone do it early. If you want to luff the A away from the pin then make sure it is done well outside the "ZONE". Stay outside the zone until you can either drive deep or jibe to finish.
If you opt to drive deep you have to ensure that you can break the overlap such that when you enter the "zone" there is no overlap, ergo no right to room.