I was in this situation where we were both on starboard, heading to the weather mark. Leeward boat was maybe half a boat length in front. He came up and pinch me against a dingy tethered to an anchored yacht. I had no where to go and eased off my sails to fall off and prevent hitting any vessels.
I was told there was navigable waters around the yacht and dinghy so I had no rights for room.
I think this situation is similar...
You were told wrong. The "navigable water" part applies
only at the start. See the preamble to Part 2, Section C.
The anchored yacht and dinghy you describe were an obstruction. Since the leeward boat chose to sail below them, he was obligated to give you (as inside boat) room to avoid it.
The situation originally described took place at the finish, not the start, so rule 18 does apply.
Regards,
Eric
US Sailing Certified Judge,
Member Area D Appeals Committee