Is there any rule requiring you cross the finish line from a certain direction?
If you were pinched out of the finish line downwind, is there any reason you couldn't douse the spin, round up and cross the finish line close-hauled?
Yes, look at the definition of "finish". You must cross the finish line in the direction from the previous mark. Also look at rule 28, often called the "string rule". If you cross the line in the wrong direction, you must "unwind your string" (retrace your path) before finishing correctly.
I hope that helps,
Eric
US Sailing Certified Judge
Member, Area D Appeals Committee