Originally Posted by ksurfer2
I was the other boat in this situation. We were not on the layline and the moored boat was in a position where we had to foot slightly to get under it. There was discussion on our boat as to whether to duck the boat or try to tack, but we could not tack with Robi on our hip. We did not take Robi up into the boat, and there was plenty of time for him to decide to tack away. Sportsmanship should not be questioned here.


Dude, I thought I was the "butt" in question here, in fact I still think I am. Between rule 19.2.b and the definition of an obstruction you have me dead to rights. My bad buddy wasn't really trying to be an 'butt', at the time I had a different understanding of the rule.

As for the danger bit... it was a moored boat surrounded by navigable water, 10kts is not light speed.

Now, the question is... Could I have called for room to tack? assuming the course change I had to make was "substantial" enough to pass below the anchored boat.


David Ingram
F18 USA 242
http://www.solarwind.solar

"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
"Excuses are the tools of the weak and incompetent" - Two sista's I overheard in the hall
"You don't have to be a brain surgeon to be a complete idiot, but it helps"