Originally Posted by Isotope42
Originally Posted by pgp
Two boats on starboard tack. A F16 is finishing downwind (under spinnaker). Can he legally head up, preventing an A cat (or any other type) from finishing. ... he is not sailing above proper course.


Let's nail down some facts:
1) Both boats are on the same tack (starboard in this case).
2) The boats are overlapped.
3) It is the leeward (L) boat's proper course to finish at the mark.
4a) They are more than three boat-lengths from the finish mark or,
4b) They are at the three boat-length zone from the finish mark.
5) L was able to give W (windward) room at the mark at the time they became overlapped (potentially long before they reached the zone).

Because L is not sailing above her proper course (fact 3), rule 17 does not apply and need not be considered.

While they are outside the zone (fact 4a), rule 18 does not apply. Rule 11 does (facts 1,2) and W must keep clear of L. L may change course provided she gives W room to keep clear under rule 16.1.

When they reach the zone, they are overlapped (fact 4b) and W is inside. Because L was able to give mark-room when the overlap was established, she must give W mark-room within the zone under rule 18.2(b).

In short, you can't pinch somebody off the finish line.

I hope that helps,
Eric
US Sailing Certified Judge,
Member Area D Appeals Committee



Anywhere outside of the 3 boatlength zone, the important thing to consider is how the overlap was established. If the leeward boat gained the overlap from astern of the windward boat, then she is only entitled to sail as high as her proper course- no higher. Proper course is a subjective thing, but I think that if you are on the layline to the finish, you would have a hard time proving that any course above the layline is not above your proper course.

If the windward boat established the overlap from clear astern, then the leeward boat has no proper course limitations and may take the windward boat head to wind if she pleases.

Once the first boat enters the three boat circle, the outside boat must give the inside boat mark room if an overlap exists. This is treated exactly the same as any other leeward gate situation.

The only way you could prevent someone from finishing would be if you are the leeward boat and in a situation where you are not restricted by proper course limitations (i.e. someone tries to pass you to windward), you could head that person up as high as you please outside of the 3 lenght zone. You would then have to bear off extremely quickly, breaking the overlap and shooting down to the mark. Since the overlap was broken, the inside boat would not be entitled to room and you could close the door on them. Frankly, I doubt it could be pulled off on a catamaran, perhaps in a dinghy.

sm