Wow, lots to cover. I believe Mary is correct. If someone fouls you and you don't call him because he's your buddy, you both can be protested by someone else.
If there's a rule that says you must protest then I'd appreciate it if someone could tell me the number. I'm always learning new things about the rules. Until then, however, I'll continue to say you can't protest someone for not protesting someone.
Now, it's conceivable you could say that someone broke rule 2 (Fair Sailing) because he favored his buddy, but that would be hard to demonstrate. Besides, if you witnessed the infraction, you can always protest his buddy yourself.
Regards,
Eric