Quote
3. Boats coming in from the left on or near the port tack layline do so at great risk if boats are rounding. You have no recourse if you are hailed to do circles in the event you cause a right of way boat to alter course to avoid a collision.


I agree that a port layline approcher is taking
a risk. But when rounding on starboard, always remember that there is no rule that prohibits this, and you
are bound by rule 16 not to change course in a way that
leaves him no opportunity to keep clear. That means
you can not round down without regard to the port tackers
ability to keep clear. I have seen a few protests from
starboard boats that fail to understand that they
are "changing course" when they round a mark.

So you can't throw a flag because a port tacker delayed
your round down slightly. He has a right to be there, and
is not required to anticipate your change of course.

Usually if the wind is up the closing speeds are
high enough that the delay in your round-down will
be a couple of seconds or less. Any more than that,
and you would be able to cross in front of the port tacker
leaving enough room for him to luff a bit.