This is a highly unusual situation, we don't normally have video. And, in more than one instance, I can see testimony that doesn't quite add up to the pictures.

Based solely on the video (no testimony), I agree with Matt's analysis; although saying that ARC (Wave) didn't start correctly assumes that he never corrected before starting (granted, a moot point).

While RRS 44.1(b) requires a boat that has broken a rule to retire if she caused serious damage; there is some leeway, in that Wave may not have thought she broke a rule (and who knows what they were thinking at that point?).

Wave definitely hit Stray Cats (you can see the shock in the pole-mounted camera at 1:25 in the video), AFTER coming up to do so. It was a rather light tap, so Karl may not have been aware of it.

After viewing the video, I don't think Wave has any hope of saying that Stray Cats forced Wave to hit Adrenaline. There was too much room between the Stray Cats and Adrenaline, and Wave did too much maneuvering to be considered innocent. Wave should have sheeted out and stopped after hitting Stray Cats (there was no point at which Wave had a shot of making it across the line without barging).

Mike